Forget passive-aggressive. I’m aggressive-aggressive.

But only when you push me…

Shefali O'Hara
3 min readOct 16, 2021
Photo by Mark Timberlake on Unsplash

Today I shared a story with my boyfriend about how I’m a slow-burn sorta person. I’m not reactive.

“I was in college,” I told him. “And I had a roommate who kept wanting to borrow my blender. I told her, sure, you can borrow it, just return it in the condition I give it to you.”

“So did she not return it, or was it dirty when you got it back?” he asked.

“Both,” I told him. “A couple of days later I went looking for it and found it abandoned in the shared kitchen crusted with gunk.”

“So then,” I continued. “A couple of weeks later she asked to borrow it again. And I hadn’t done anything because, to be honest, I figured I’d give her the benefit of the doubt. She could have gotten really busy or spaced it.”

“Yeah,” he said. “You were both, what, 20? That kind of thing happens, especially if she had a paper due or something.”

“Sure,” I said, though actually I was only 16 at the time, and my roommate was 18. But emotionally, I think I was more mature… because she kept pulling the same petty crap.

“Anyway,” I went on. “The second time I emphasized that she needed to return my blender and it needed to be clean. But, sure enough, she didn’t…

--

--

Shefali O'Hara

Cancer survivor, writer, engineer. BSEE from MIT, MSEE, and MA in history. Love nature, animals, books, art, and interesting discussions.