I Saw My Neighbor Hit His Wife

What should I have done?

Shefali O'Hara
4 min readMay 19, 2022
Photo by Sneha Sivarajan on Unsplash

I was in my front garden, hidden by my roses. I was caring for my plants.

It was a peaceful, sunny morning. The birds had been singing, and I’d spotted a tiny butterfly playing in the perennials.

The peace was broken by shouts.

My neighbors across the street were yelling at each other. I paused for a second. I’d never heard them do that before. I glanced in their direction.

I saw him hit her.

I heard the sound of it. I heard her yelp of pain, the beginning of a sob. Then the door slammed as she ran into the house.

He walked to sit on the couch in his garage. He looked at his cell phone.

I was glad he couldn’t see me.

What should I do? I wasn’t sure.

If he had been beating her up, I would have called the police. I’d done that before. No hesitation.

But this was a one-time occurrence. And I didn’t know them.

If I offered to help her, would she accept?

One of my neighbors had recently divorced her husband. He used to beat her. My husband and I didn’t know about it for years. Finally, one day, the dam burst and she showed up crying. We were in shock.

--

--

Shefali O'Hara

Cancer survivor, writer, engineer. BSEE from MIT, MSEE, and MA in history. Love nature, animals, books, art, and interesting discussions.